Monday, August 8, 2011

What's been your experience of reverse culture shock (back to the West from Nihon)?

My first impressions coming back the US were that everything in the US is done sloppily, Americans aren't as polite, the customer service here is atrocious (stand in line 5 people deep at CVS with one person at the cash register), and the girls are much fatter and uglier. And you're right, machismo is almost nonexistent over in Japan, here you have to put up with that crap. I had the feeling that everything in Japan is designed to be intuitive; everything just works as it is supposed to. Things don't break down as much. Horrible public transport system in the US.

No comments:

Post a Comment